Tenn. Football celebrates Peyton Manning's Hall of Fame induction with heartwarming video

(WVLT) -- Tennessee Football celebrated Peyton Manning's induction into the National Football Foundation's 2017 College Football Hall of Fame with a heartwarming throwback video on Facebook.

"'Dear Mr. Manning,

It's called heart and character -- hallmarks of true winners everywhere.'

Today, we celebrate Peyton's induction into the College Football Hall of Fame and his dedication to the University of Tennessee and Knoxville Community. #PeytonHOF," the post reads.

The Hall of Fame includes the names of ten first team All-America players and three standout coaches. Manning was selected as an inductee in January.

Manning was the quarterback for the Tennessee Volunteers from 1994 to 1997. He played for the Indianapolis Colts from 1998 to 2010 and retired from the NFL after playing for the Denver Broncos from 2012 to 2015.

He is a two-time Super Bowl winner and the most valuable player of Super Bowl XLI.

The inductees were picked from a ballot of 75 All-America players and six elite coaches from the Football Bowl Subdivision and the 95 players and 29 coaches from the divisional ranks.

2017 College Football Hall of Fame Class:


Bob Crable – LB, Notre Dame (1978-81)
Marshall Faulk – RB, San Diego State (1991-93)
Kirk Gibson – WR, Michigan State (1975-78)
Matt Leinart – QB, Southern California (2003-05)
Peyton Manning – QB, Tennessee (1994-97)
Bob McKay – OT, Texas (1968-69)
Dat Nguyen– LB, Texas A&M (1995-98)
Adrian Peterson – RB, Georgia Southern (1998-2001)
Mike Ruth – NG, Boston College (1982-85)
Brian Urlacher – DB, New Mexico (1996-99)


Danny Ford – 122-59-5 (66.9%); Clemson (1978-89), Arkansas (1993-97)
Larry Kehres – 332-24-3 (92.9%); Mount Union (Ohio) (1986-2012)
Steve Spurrier – 228-89-2 (71.8%); Duke (1987-89), Florida (1990-2001), South Carolina (2005-15)