Williams Earns Coaches' Preseason All-SEC Acclaim

CHAPEL HILL, NC - DECEMBER 11, 2016 - Forward Grant Williams #2 of the Tennessee Volunteers during the game between the North Carolina Tar Heels and the Tennessee Volunteers at Dean Smith Center in Chapel Hill, NC. Photo By Craig Bisacre/Tennessee Athletics

Knoxville, Tenn. (UT Sports)-- The Southeastern Conference unveiled its men's basketball coaches' preseason All-SEC teams Friday, and Tennessee sophomore Grant Williams earned second-team acclaim.

The Volunteers' leading returning scorer (12.6 ppg) and rebounder (5.9 ppg), Williams put together a remarkable true freshman campaign last season, starting 29 games for the Big Orange.

His 402 total points last season ranked sixth all-time among Tennessee freshmen, trailing only Bernard King (661), Allan Houston (609), Tobias Harris (521), Ernie Grunfeld (453) and Chris Lofton (410). And his 30-point performances against Lipscomb and Georgia made him just the third Vol in history to record multiple 30-point games as a freshman, joining King and Houston.

Williams' 61 blocked shots last year shattered Tennessee's previous freshman record of 39 (C.J. Black, 1996-97) and ranked as the second-most ever recorded in a single season by a Vol. The Charlotte, North Carolina, native's 1.9 bpg average ranked third all-time for a single season and easily bested the previous freshman record of 1.41 (C.J. Black, 1996-97).

Williams and the Vols open the 2017-18 season Friday (tonight) when they host Presbyterian at Thompson-Boling Arena (7 p.m. ET, SEC Network+). Season tickets, mini plans and individual-game tickets are available by visiting AllVols.com or calling the UT Ticket Office at 1-800-332-8657.

The coaches' preseason All-SEC first and second teams consist of a minimum of eight players on each squad, voted on by the league's 14 head coaches. Coaches could not vote for their own players. No ties were broken, and no predicted order of finish was made. Thirteen schools are represented on the two teams.

First Team All-SEC
KeVaughn Allen – Florida
Yante Maten – Georgia
Kevin Knox – Kentucky
Deandre Burnett – Ole Miss
Quinndary Weatherspoon – Mississippi St.
Michael Porter, Jr. – Missouri
Tyler Davis – Texas A&M
Robert Williams – Texas A&M
Matthew Fisher-Davis – Vanderbilt

Second Team All-SEC
Braxton Key – Alabama
Collin Sexton – Alabama
Jaylen Barford – Arkansas
Daryl Macon – Arkansas
Mustapha Heron – Auburn
Chris Chiozza – Florida
Terence Davis – Ole Miss
Hamidou Diallo – Kentucky
Chris Silva – South Carolina
Grant Williams – Tennessee