Hank Jr., Scruggs Inducted into Songwriters Hall of Fame

NASHVILLE, Tenn. (AP) -- Country performer Hank Williams Jr. has carried on another family tradition by being inducted into the Nashville Songwriters Hall of Fame.

Williams, who wrote the Monday Night Football theme and hits for himself like "Family Tradition" and "Texas Women," attended yesterday's induction ceremony to join his late father, Hank Williams Sr., in the hall.

Also inducted were bluegrass innovators Lester Flatt and Earl Scruggs, gospel artist Dottie Rambo and country songwriters Bob DiPiero (duh-PEER'oh) and Mac McAnally.

Songwriting credits for Scruggs include "Foggy Mountain Breakdown" and "Earl's Breakdown."

One of Rambo's best-known songs, "I Go to the Rock," was recorded by Whitney Houston for her movie "The Preacher's Wife."

Hall member Jimmy Buffett introduced McAnally, who also plays in Buffett's Coral Reefer Band. McAnally's hits include "Old Flame" and "All These Years."

DiPiero wrote the country hits "Blue Clear Sky," "Take Me As I Am" and "Wink."

The Songwriters Hall of Fame was founded in 1970 and has inducted 167 members.

(Copyright 2007 by The Associated Press. All Rights Reserved.)