Eight additional Tennessee counties approved for federal disaster aid

NASHVILLE, Tenn. (AP) -- Eight additional Tennessee counties have been approved for federal disaster aid in the wake of last week's deadly storms.

Gov. Phil Bredesen announced on Tuesday that residents and businesses in Benton, Hickman, Houston, Lewis, Montgomery, Perry, Trousdale and Williamson counties will be eligible for aid.

They join Hardin, Macon, Madison, Shelby and Sumner counties, which were approved for aid last week.

President Bush toured some of the hardest hit areas as did Homeland Security director Michael Chertoff.

Storms and tornadoes killed 31 people in Tennessee and destroyed or severely damaged more than 800 homes at last count. The Tennessee Emergency Management Agency has not yet released a dollar estimate of the damage.

(Copyright 2008 by The Associated Press. All Rights Reserved.)

Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station. powered by Disqus