13 Tenn. counties would violate new EPA smog limit

By  | 

KNOXVILLE, Tenn. (AP) -- The air in 13 Tennessee counties, including every major metropolitan area, is too dirty to meet the Environmental Protection Agency's new limits on smog.

"Right now all of the ozone monitors that we have in Tennessee currently do not meet the new standard. Every one of them," state Department of Environment and Conservation spokeswoman Tisha Calabrese-Benton said Thursday.

The Tennessee counties are: Anderson, Blount, Davidson, Hamilton, Jefferson, Knox, Loudon, Meigs, Sevier, Shelby, Sullivan, Sumner, Wilson. Those are the homes and surrounding counties of Memphis, Nashville, Knoxville, Chattanooga, Johnson City, Bristol, Newport and Morristown.

(Copyright 2008 by The Associated Press. All Rights Reserved.)

Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station. powered by Disqus