State Republicans seize control of Tennessee Senate

NASHVILLE, Tenn. (AP) -- Republicans have taken control of the Tennessee state Senate.

Unofficial results Tuesday night show the Republicans picking up seats from Democrats in Districts 12 in East Tennessee and District 26 in West Tennessee.

The election began with Republicans and Democrats each holding 16 seats. The 33rd belonged to an independent up for re-election this year. Both parties were hoping to gain at least one seat to claim a majority.

With all precincts reporting in District 12, Republican Ken Yager defeated Morgan County Executive Becky Ruppe (RUH'-pee). In District 26, Republican state Rep. Dolores Gresham defeated Democrat Randy Camp.

In District 4 in East Tennessee, Republican attorney Mike Faulk was leading independent incumbent Mike Williams by more than 200 votes, but Williams had not conceded.

(Copyright 2008 by The Associated Press. All Rights Reserved.)

Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station. powered by Disqus