Ethics Committee Members Named

Knoxville (WVLT) – Knox County Mayor Mike Ragsdale has announced his selection for the new Knox County Ethics Committee.

Mayor Ragsdale has nominated Commissioners Phil Ballard (8A), Mike Hammond (5A), Mark Harmon (2A) and R. Larry Smith (7A). Ragsdale also nominated Criminal & Domestic Relations Court Clerk Martha Phillips.

Ragsdale says the Ethics Committee will investigate accusations of improper hiring practices, nepotism and the hiring of elected officials. Ragsdale says that once the committee members are approved, he will ask that they begin by examining the executive branch first.

According to the Knox County Ethics Policy, the Ethics Committee is to be composed of at least three county commissioners, a constitutional officer and a member of a board, committee or commission.