Bredesen Names 4 New Trustees To UT Board

Nashville (AP) -- Governor Bredesen has named four businessmen, including a former State Democratic Party Chairman, to fill vacancies on the University of Tennessee Board of Trustees.

They are Charles Anderson Junior of Knoxville, Douglas Horne of Knoxville, George Cates of Memphis and Robert Talbott of Knoxville.

Horne was state Democratic Chairman from 1999 to 2000.

The four replace William Stokely, Jim Haslam, Johnnie Amonette and Susan Richardson-Williams.

The board governs the University of Tennessee System, which consists of the flagship campus in Knoxville, campuses in Chattanooga and Martin, the Health Science Center in Memphis and the Space Institute in Tullahoma.

(Copyright 2007 by the Associated Press. All rights reserved.)

Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station. powered by Disqus