Farragut students win state championship in national cyber defense competition

Front row L to R: Micah Teagarden, Ryan Senter, Bailey Holland, Ben Jones Back row L to R: Mr. Greg Hinkel (Mentor from ORNL), Anthony Young, Sam Maclean, Mr. David Galaska (Coach-Farragut Cyber Admirals) Not pictured: Matt Fisher
By  | 

KNOXVILLE, Tenn. (Submitted) -- The Farragut Cyber Admirals won the state championship for the third consecutive year in CyberPatriot's national cyber defense competition, open division. The Farragut ROTC Cyber Defense Team also won the State Champion in the All Service Division.

As the state champions, the school qualified to compete in the Regional Recognition Round against the top teams from seven other states in the southeast region. The school placed 4th of the eight states in the southeast region.

Team members are: Matthew Fisher, Bailey Holland, Benjamin Jones, Sam Maclean, Micah Teagarden, Anthony Young, and Ryan Senter, and our mentor is Mr. Greg Hinkel from ORNL.

The Air Force Association Awards dinner will take place on May 2 in Nashville, where the school will receive its state championship banner and trophy.

Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station. powered by Disqus