Sweetwater named Main Streeet Community

FILE - (AP Photo/Ed Andrieski, File)

SWEETWATER, Tenn. (WVLT) -- State business officials say the city of Sweetwater is Tennessee's newest Main Street community.

Located in McMinn and Monroe Counties, Sweetwater is the state's 27th Main Street community. Cities that receive Main Street designations receive technical assistance and guidance to make their downtowns areas safe, appealing, vibrant places where people want to shop and live.

“Sweetwater is the first community to graduate from the Tennessee Downtowns program and pursue Main Street designation,” Tennessee Main Street Director Todd Morgan said. “They have invested time and resources into making downtown a great place and I look forward to seeing the effort continue to grow.”

In 2012, certified Main Street communities generated more than $82 million of public-private investment and created 604 new jobs.

State economic and community development commissioner Bill Hagerty says strong downtowns signal a healthy local economy and help attract companies

Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station. powered by Disqus