Ambrose wins Nationwide race at Watkins Glen; Bayne 29th

WATKINS GLEN, N.Y. (AP/WVLT) -- Marcos Ambrose has won the Nationwide Zippo 200 at Watkins Glen International for the third straight time.

Ambrose started on pole and dominated the race, leading the final half of the 82-lap race around the 11-turn, 2.45-mile layout, and beat Joey Logano by 2.8 seconds.

Kevin Harvick somehow avoided a 10-car wreck and overcame a dustup on the first lap and a speeding penalty on pit road to finish third. Points leader Brad Keselowski was fourth, followed by Kyle Busch, who was seeking his fourth straight win.

Ron Fellows, Nelson Piquet, Jacques Villeneuve, Steve Wallace and Michael McDowell rounded out the top 10.

Carl Edwards, second in points, finished 33rd after losing a cylinder and dropped 327 points behind Keselowski.

Knoxville native Trevor Bayne was involved in a crash. After scoring four top 5's in his last six starts, Bayne finished 29th Saturday. He's currently eighth in the points standings.

(Copyright 2010 by The Associated Press. All Rights Reserved.)

Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station. powered by Disqus