UT's Smokey added to All-America mascot team

By  | 

KNOXVILLE, Tenn. (September 8th, 2010) – Tennessee's mascot "Smokey" received one of the highest honors in his field when Capitol One named him to its ninth annual Capital One All-America Mascot Team.

This year’s team represents the breadth of college football teams and their fans, ranging from the glitz of UCLA’s Joe Bruin to the mononymous mascots Smokey, The Univesity of Oregon's Duck and Testudo from the University of Maryland.

Members of the 2010 Capital One All-America Mascot Team include:
Joe Bruin of the University of California Los Angeles, Bearcat of the University of Cincinnati, Joe Vandal of the University of Idaho, Mike the Tiger of Louisiana State University, Testudo of theUniversity Maryland, Sebastian the Ibis of the University of Miami, Goldy Gopher of the University of Minnesota, Monte of the University of Montana, Brutus Buckeye of The Ohio State University, Big Blue of Old Dominion University,Duck of the University Oregon, Smokey of the University of Tennessee,
Paydirt Pete of the University of Texas El Paso, The Bird of the U.S. Air Force Academy, Mr. C of Vanderbilt University, and Big Red of Western Kentucky University.

With their cartoonish, oversized heads, the All-American mascots will compete throughout the 2010 college football season to claim the coveted title of “Capital One National Mascot of the Year”. Each participating school’s mascot receives $5,000 for its university mascot program, and the Capital One National Mascot of the Year receives an additional $15,000 scholarship to help fund its school’s mascot program.

The Capital One National Mascot of the Year is determined through fan voting. Each week throughout the college football season fans can click the link below to vote for their favorite All-American Mascot.

Voting consists of 12 weekly head-to-furry-head match ups between the All-Americans, with fans being able to vote daily at capitalonebowl.com for their favorite mascots. The mascots with the best win/loss records face off in online playoffs starting November 22, and the winner will be pronounced Capital One National Mascot of the Year on January 1, 2011 during the Capital One Bowl.

Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station. powered by Disqus