Tennessee's Candace Parker One of 12 Finalists for State Farm Wade Trophy

The State Farm Wade Trophy Committee along with the Women's Basketball Coaches Association (WBCA) and the National Association for Girls and Women in Sport (NAGWS) announced today the 12 finalists in contention for The State Farm Wade Trophy.

“The State Farm Wade Trophy committee has compiled quite an impressive list of 12 finalists,” said WBCA CEO Beth Bass. “These young women not only succeed on the hardwood, but also serve as positive role models in the community. Each one of the finalists is deserving of the State Farm Wade Trophy.”

The candidates were selected by a vote of committee members comprised of leading basketball coaches, journalists and basketball administrators. Members of the committee will select the winner of The State Farm Wade Trophy from the 10-member Division I State Farm Coaches’ All-America Team and will be announced at the State Farm Coaches’ All-America Team Press Conference and The State Farm Wade Trophy Announcement during the WBCA National Convention on Saturday, April 5, 2008, at 9:45 a.m. (ET).

"State Farm would like to congratulate the finalists for the 2008 State Farm Wade Trophy and for their outstanding achievements throughout the year,” said Mark Gibson, assistant vice president advertising for State Farm. "These athletes epitomize the true meaning of student-athlete and we are honored to recognize them for their accomplishments on and off the court."

The State Farm Wade Trophy Finalists:

Matee Ajavon
Rutgers University

Essence Carson
Rutgers University

Tina Charles
University of Connecticut

Sylvia Fowles
Louisiana State University

Crystal Langhorne
University of Maryland

Erlana Larkins
University of North Carolina

Angel McCoughtry
University of Louisville

Renee Montgomery
University of Connecticut

Courtney Paris
University of Oklahoma

Candace Parker
University of Tennessee

Kristi Toliver
University of Maryland

Candice Wiggins
Stanford University

The State Farm Wade Trophy, now in its 31st year is named after the late, legendary three-time national champion Delta State University coach, Lily Margaret Wade. This most prestigious award, regarded as “The Heisman of Women’s Basketball”, debuted in 1978 as the first-ever women's national player of the year award in college basketball.

Last year’s State Farm Wade Trophy winner was Tennessee’s Candace Parker. The first recipient of the Wade Trophy was Carol Blazejowski of Montclair State in 1978. Other Wade Trophy/NCAA Division I Player of the Year recipients include many WNBA standouts such as Teresa Weatherspoon (1988), DeLisha Milton-Jones (1997), Ticha Penicheiro (1998), Sue Bird (2002) and Diana Taurasi (2003). Seimone Augustus (2005 and 2006) and Nancy Lieberman (1979 and 1980) are the award’s only two-time recipients.

The Wade Trophy Coalition was established in June of 2000 when the WBCA partnered with The National Association of Girls and Women in Sport (NAGWS). For the past five years the two have worked together to present The State Farm Wade Trophy Player of the Year Award. A committee comprised of coaches, administration and media from across the United States selects the winner.

Story Courtesy: TN Lady Vols Sports Information

Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station. powered by Disqus