Vols' McNeil named to 2008 Rimington Trophy Watch List

The Rimington Trophy committee has released its 2008 Spring Watch List. The list includes Tennessee junior Josh McNeil, two finalists from the 2007 Watch List and the 2007 winner of the Rimington Trophy, Arkansas' Jonathan Luigs. The Trophy has not had a repeat winner in its history.

In all, there are 42 players on the watch list. A total of seven players represent the Big 12 Conference. The Pacific-10 Conference is represented by six players, while the ACC and SEC have five players each on the list.

2008 Rimington Trophy Spring Watch List --

Antoine Caldwell, Alabama; Blake Kerley, Arizona; Jonathan Luigs, Arkansas; Jason Bosley, Auburn; J.D. Walton, Baylor; Alex Mack, California; Colin Miller, Central Michigan; Daniel Sanders, Colorado; Keith Gray, Connecticut; Brad Serini, Florida International; Ryan McMahon, Florida State; John Estes, Hawaii; Carl Barnett, Houston; Adam Korby, Idaho; Alex Perry, Indiana; Ryan Cantrell, Kansas; Jordan Bedore, Kansas State; Chris Fisher, Louisiana-Lafayette; Eric Wood, Louisville; Brett Helms, LSU; Edwin Williams, Maryland; Philip Beliles, Memphis; Dominic Green, Nevada; Jim Cordle, Ohio State; Jon Cooper, Oklahoma; Andrew Lewis, Oklahoma State; A.Q. Shipley, Penn State; Ryan Blaszcyk, Rutgers; Mitch Enright, SMU; Jake Griffin, South Florida; Alex Fletcher, Stanford; Blake Schlueter, TCU; Alex Derenthal, Temple; JOSH McNEIL, TENNESSEE; Chris Hall, Texas; Danny Franks, Troy; Kristopher O'Dowd, Southern California; Ryan Tonnemacher, Utah State; Robby Felix, UTEP; Juan Garcia, Washington; Kenny Alfred, Washington State; Mike Dent, West Virginia.

While more than a dozen All-America football teams are selected annually, the Rimington Trophy committee uses these four prestigious teams to determine a winner: American Football Coaches Association, Walter Camp Foundation, The Sporting News and Football Writers Association of America.

Because the selectors of these four All-America teams can place centers in a mix of offensive linemen that includes guards and tackles, their 11-man first teams can often have two centers. Rimington Trophy policy is to count all players that play primarily the center position for their respective teams as centers, even though they may be listed as guards or tackles on the four All-American teams.

The center with the most first team votes will be determined the winner. If there is a tie with first-team votes, the center with the most second-team votes will win. If there is still a tie, the winner will be determined by the Rimington Trophy committee.

The winner will be honored Jan. 17, 2009, at the Rimington Trophy Presentation banquet in Lincoln, Neb.

Story Courtesy: UT Sports Information

Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station. powered by Disqus