Vintage Footballs Donated To Vols Doug Dickey Hall Of Champions

By  | 

Boyden Leach, a Knoxville native, presented two vintage autographed footballs from the 1938 Tennessee National Championship team and the 1966 Gator Bowl championship team to UT Athletics Director Mike Hamilton to be placed in the Doug Dickey Hall of Champions to be completed in the McKenzie-Lawson Center.

Leach, who attended Tennessee Military Institute, later graduated from UT in 1945. He moved to the Tampa, Fla., area where he worked in the insurance business with Hall-of-Famer Frank Emanuel. Leach, who moved back to the Knoxville area three years ago, felt that presentation of the balls to UT would provide an opportunity for others to view the history of Tennessee football up close and personal.

A longtime Vols fan, Leach indicated that the signed 1938 ball was given to him by Bill Murrell, who served as an assistant football coach at Tennessee from 1938-41 and again in 1947. The 1966 ball, also autographed by the team members, was presented to Leach's father by former athletics director Bob Woodruff, in recognition of his support of the athletic program.

The 1938 team finished with an 11-0 record and was declared National Champion by five nationally recognized poll selectors. The team was led by College Football Hall-of-Famers George Cafego, Ed Molinski, Bob Suffridge and Bowden Wyatt.

The 1966 team finished 8-3. The Vols concluded the season with an 18-12 Gator Bowl victory over the Larry Csonka and Floyd Little-led Syracuse Orangemen. Tennessee's Dewey Warren was named Most Outstanding Player of the game.

Story Courtesy: UT Sports Information & Public Relations

Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station. powered by Disqus