2007 SEC Softball Tournament Bracket Announced

The 2007 Southeastern Conference Champion was decided on the final day of regular season play. Entering the final weekend of conference games, No.1 Alabama, No. 2 Tennessee and No. 4 LSU were in a three-way tie for first place. Tennessee's doubleheader sweep of Alabama on Sunday, combined with LSU's 2-1 series loss to Georgia, sealed the regular season title for the Lady Vols. As the regular season conference champions, Tennessee earned the top seed in the 2007 SEC Softball Tournament, to be hosted by Auburn at Jane B. Moore Field.

LSU won the western division, and the No. 2 seed in the tournament, edging out Alabama by half a game. Alabama will be the No. 3 seed, with No. 22 Florida as the No. 4 seed, Mississippi State as the No. 5 seed, Georgia as the No. 6 seed, South Carolina as the No. 7 seed and Ole Miss as the No. 8 seed.

The tournament is set to start on Thursday, May 10. Alabama will open up tournament play when the Crimson Tide takes on the Georgia Bulldogs. Alabama won the three-game series, 2-1, at home during the regular season.

Thursday's second game will feature a meeting between LSU and South Carolina. LSU won the three-game series, 2-1, at home in April. South Carolina claimed the first game of the series, with LSU bouncing back to win the next two.

Florida and Mississippi State will face off in game three, in an exciting rematch of one of the final series of the year. The two teams split the doubleheader of the three-game series, before Florida claimed a 3-2 win in extra innings in the final game, to win the series 2-1.

Tennessee will close out the first day of the tournament, when the Lady Vols take on the Ole Miss Rebels. The two teams met in March for a doubleheader, which they split.

The 2007 SEC Softball Tournament kicks off on Thursday, May 10 in Auburn, Ala., at Jane B. Moore Field on the Auburn University campus. The first game is scheduled for 12:00p EDT.

2007 SEC Softball Tournament Schedule--

Thursday, May 10:

Game 1 - # 3 Alabama vs. # 6 Georgia 12:00p EDT
Game 2 - # 2 LSU vs. # 7 South Carolina 2:30 p.m. EDT
Game 3 - # 4 Florida vs. # 5 Mississippi State 6:00 p.m. EDT
Game 4 - # 1 Tennessee vs. # 8 Ole Miss 8:30 p.m. EDT

Friday, May 11:

Game 5 - G1 winner vs. G2 winner 6:00p EDT
Game 6 - G3 winner vs. G4 winner 8:30 p.m. EDT

Saturday, May 12
Game 7 - G5 winner vs. G6 winner 1:00 p.m. EDT [FSN South]

Story Courtesy: The SEC

Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station. powered by Disqus