Women's Basketball Hall Of Fame

June 8, 2007

The Women's Basketball Hall of Fame will honor its ninth group of inductees on June 9 at the Historic Tennessee Theatre in Knoxville, Tenn. The Induction Weekend, Legends of the Game Off the Court and into the Spotlight, includes two days of festivities to honor the Class of 2007.

The six members of the Class of 2007 are: former Tennessee Lady Vols Daedra Charles-Furlow and Bridgette Gordon, Texas standout Andrea Lloyd Curry, former Louisiana Tech post player Pamela Kelly-Flowers, Philadelphia Inquirer sportswriter Mel Greenberg and Georgia head coach, and Blount County native, Andy Landers.

Charles-Furlow and Gordon teamed up to lead the Lady Vols to the 1989 National Championship. They are two of only five Lady Vols to have their numbers retired and were both members of the inaugural Class of 2001 into the Tennessee Lady Vol Athletic Hall of Fame. Individually, their statistics also speak volumes.

Charles-Furlow was the first player from the Southeastern Conference to win the Wade Trophy, when she received the honor in 1991. She was a two-time National Champion (1989, 1991) and two-time Kodak All-American while at Tennessee, and went on to represent the USA with a bronze medal in the 1992 Olympics. Charles-Furlow played professionally in Japan, Italy and France from 1991-97 before returning to play for the WNBA's Los Angeles Sparks in 1997.

While at Tennessee, Gordon made an NCAA-record four consecutive trips to the Final Four, winning two national championships (1987 and 1989) and being named the Women's Final Four Most Outstanding Player in 1989. She was a First-Team All-Southeastern Conference performer all four years and earned SEC Player of the Year and Female Athlete of the Year honors in 1989. In 1988, Gordon was one of two collegiate members on the gold-medal winning USA Olympic women's basketball team in Seoul, Korea.

In four years at Texas, Lloyd Curry helped to lead the Longhorns to the No. 1 ranking in the final women's basketball poll each year, winning the National Championship in 1986 and becoming the first team to ever finish a season undefeated (34-0) that year. She was a five-time member of USA Basketball's Senior National Team, winning the gold medal in the 1988 Olympics, and an eight-time All-Star for the Italian Professional League. Lloyd Curry also played three seasons in the American Basketball League and two seasons in the WNBA.

A three-time All-American at Louisiana Tech (1980-1982), Kelly-Flowers won the Wade Trophy and the Broderick Award as the nation's most outstanding women's college basketball player in 1982. She led the school to the top ranking in the nation in her junior and senior years, while tallying a record of 143-10, the most wins ever over a four-year period in the history of the program. With Kelly-Flowers on the court, the Lady Techsters won two national championships the 1981 AIAW title and the 1982 NCAA title.

Combined, the four players boast five NCAA National Championships, one AIAW title, two Olympic gold medals, an Olympic bronze medal, two Wade Trophies, over 8,000 points and almost 5,000 rebounds.

Serving on the staff of the Philadelphia Inquirer for the past 37 years, Greenberg has become best known for his national and local coverage of women's basketball at the collegiate and professional levels. In 1976, he created the first weekly national collegiate women's basketball poll, which two years later began worldwide transmission as the Associated Press women's rankings. Greenberg has covered every national finals dating back to the era of the Association for Intercollegiate Athletics for Women (AIAW), earning him the nickname of The Guru.

In 28 seasons as head coach at Georgia, Landers has never had a losing season, compiling a 684-215 (.761) record. A four-time National Coach of the Year, Landers has led the Lady Bulldogs to an average of 24.4 wins each season, a statistic that ranks fourth among all Division I women's basketball head coaches with at least 20 seasons of tenure. He has led Georgia to 24 of 26 NCAA Tournaments, which ranks second in the nation, including two national runner-up finishes, five Final Fours, 10 Elite Eights and 17 Sweet 16s. He has produced three National Players of the Year and 12 Kodak All-Americans.

With the addition of the Class of 2007, the list of individuals who have been recognized as Women's Basketball Hall of Fame inductees will increase to 97.

The Women's Basketball Hall of Fame's Board of Directors serves as the selection committee in determining which individuals will be inducted each year. Voting is based on various factors, which may include moral character, integrity, sportsmanship, record of performance, ability, national or international recognition, and contributions to the game of women's basketball.

In order to be considered for selection for induction, an individual must meet the following prerequisites:

Player: Must be retired from the highest level of play for at least five years
Coach: Must have coached the women's game at least 20 years
Referee: Must have officiated the women's game at least 10 years
Contributor: Must have significantly impacted the game of women's basketball
The mission of the Women's Basketball Hall of Fame, which opened in June 1999, is to honor the past, celebrate the present, and promote the future of women's basketball.

Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station. powered by Disqus