Pat Summitt Honored In San Diego

July 1, 2007

SAN DIEGO, Calif. – University of Tennessee women's basketball coach Pat Summitt, the winningest college basketball coach of all-time, has been named the 2007 Dick Enberg Award winner by the College Sports Information Directors of America (CoSIDA).

Coach Summitt will receive her award Sunday evening (July 1) at the San Diego Hotel and Marina Hotel as part of the 19th annual CoSIDA Academic All-America Hall of Fame® induction ceremonies. With Dick Enberg in London at Wimbledon, the award will be presented by his nephew, Jon.

Established in 1997, the Dick Enberg Award is given annually to a person whose actions and commitment have furthered the meaning and reach of the Academic All-America Teams Program and/or the student-athlete while promoting the values of education and academics.

The award was created in part to recognize Enberg's passion and support of the CoSIDA Academic All-America® program for more than 20 years, as well as his dedication to education for more than four decades.

"In all my UCLA days, I rubbed shoulders with the greatest coach in the history of the game, John Wooden," said the award's namesake. "I wish I could have personally measured it as a Lady Vol's announcer against the incredible accomplishments of Coach Summitt."

A consummate taskmaster, Summitt has kept her elite program in the winner's circle for over three decades, producing a mind-boggling record of 947-180 (.840). During her tenure, the Lady Vols have won seven NCAA titles, as well as 26 Southeastern Conference tournament and regular season championships. Tennessee has made an unprecedented 26 consecutive appearances in the NCAA Sweet 16 and produced 12 Olympians, 19 Kodak All-Americans named to 32 teams, and 69 All-SEC performers. Along with the success on the court, Summitt's student-athletes have tremendous productivity in the classroom. Coach Summitt has a 100 percent graduation rate for all Lady Vols who have completed their eligibility at Tennessee.

Summitt has been inducted into both the Basketball Hall of Fame in Springfield, Mass. and the Women's Basketball Hall of Fame in Knoxville.

A celebrated figure in women's athletics, Summitt is busy off the court as well with involvement in numerous organizations, including the Smithsonian National Museum of American History, the United Way and the Verizon Wireless' HopeLine program. Additionally, she is an active spokesperson for the United Way, The Race for the Cure and Juvenile Diabetes. She has been a member of Big Brothers/Big Sisters and was the honorary chair for the Tennessee Easter Seal Society in 1985, 1987, 1988 and 1989.

"It boggles my pride to think of the high quality individuals who have joined the COSIDA Academic All-America Program as past Enberg Award recipients, people such as President Ford, Bill Russell, Father Ted Hesburgh, Dean Smith and now Coach Summitt. To have such an award named after me continues to be the most significant honor I've ever received in my 50 years as an educator and broadcaster” continued Enberg.

In addition to the presentation of the Enberg award, five outstanding individuals will be inducted into the CoSIDA Academic All-America Hall of Fame on Sunday, boosting the total number of members to 98. The class of 2007 includes:

· Julie Foudy (Stanford University, class of 1993), a former five-year captain of the U.S. women's national soccer team who will be inducted into the National Soccer Hall of Fame later this summer;

· Joe Girardi (Northwestern University, class of 1986), a veteran of 15 years in the major leagues and the 2006 National League Manager of the Year;

· Lance Pilch (U.S. Air Force Academy, class of 1993), a two-time Academic All-America baseball player at the Academy who is now a premier fighter jet pilot with more than 2,000 hours of flying time;

· Dr. Amy (Sullivan) Nordmann (Washington University in St. Louis, class of 1994), a three-time Division III national champion in volleyball and now a radiologist specializing in Breast Imaging;

· Steve Smith (Stanford University, class of 1980), an astronaut who is a veteran of four space flights and seven space walks.

CoSIDA established the Hall of Fame to honor former college student-athletes who have excelled in their professions and made substantial contributions to their communities. To be eligible for the Hall of Fame, a candidate either had to be an Academic All-America® team member who graduated at least 10 years ago, or fall into the honorary category, as was the case with Smith, a former All-America water polo player at Stanford.

Honorary inductees are eligible candidates who competed prior to the establishment of the Academic All-America program in their sport.

1999 Dean Smith
2000 Bill Russell
2001 Donna Shalala
2002 Alan Page
2003 Tom Osborne
2004 Ted Leland
2005 Father Theodore Hesburgh
2006 Pres. Gerald R. Ford
2007 Pat Summitt

Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station. powered by Disqus