Vols Place 81 Student Athletes On 2006-07 SEC Spring Academic Honor Roll

The Vols and Lady Vols combined for 81 student-athletes on the spring honors list, with 19 of those coming from the men's track and field squad and 13 from the women's team. Baseball added five representatives, while there were seven men's golfers, four women's golfers, 12 members of the rowing team, 13 softball players, five men's tennis players and three women's tennis players.

Each student-athlete must have a GPA of 3.00 for either the preceding academic year or have a cumulative GPA of 3.00 or above at the nominating institution; be on scholarship, a letter winner or have participated on a varsity team for two years if non-scholarship; have completed 24 semester hours of non-remedial credit at the nominating institution; and have been a member of the varsity team for the sport's entire NCAA Championship segment. The 2007 SEC Spring Academic Honor Roll is based on grades from the 2006 summer, 2006 fall and 2007 spring terms.

Tennessee had 39 student-athletes on the SEC's Fall Academic Honor Roll and 41 on the winter academic honor roll. Overall, UT had 161 student-athletes recognized for their academic work in the 2006-07 school year.


Baseball - Julio Borbon, sport management; Craig Cobb, accounting; Michael Moore, business; Ryne Simpson, communications; Zane Stone, sport management.

Men's Golf - James Brannen, biological sciences; John Brannen, biochemistry, cellular and molecular biology; Charlie Ford, sport management; Jonathan Mount, sport management; Philip Pettitt, sport management; Ben Spickard, sport management; Tino Weiss, sport management.

Women's Golf - Holly Cantwell, exercise science; Rachel Ingram, public relations; Nicole Smith, individualized program; Marci Turner, turfgrass science and management.

Rowing - Stephanie Davis, social work; Nina Dobratz, college scholars; Kristen Galloway, Spanish (language and world business); Pamela Harder, communications; Heather Hill, civil engineering; Danielle Hmielewski, exercise science; Caroline Howell, logistics; Amanda Jones, child and family studies; Rachel Mayberry, psychology; Erin-Monique Shelton, studio art; Alex Shishkov, exercise science; Kendra Warren, sport management.

Softball - Monica Abbott, communication studies; Tonya Callahan, child and family studies; Katherine Card, communication studies; India Chiles, psychology; Shannon Doepking, sociology; Sarah Fekete, psychology; Allison Fulmer, arts and sciences; Jennifer Griffin, arts and sciences; Lillian Hammond, psychology; Liane Horiuchi, arts and sciences; Megan Rhodes, psychology; Caitlin Ryan, sport management; Lindsay Schutzler, psychology.

Men's Tennis - Bo Hardegree, exercise science; Kaden Hensel, chemistry; Adam Hubble, sport management; Davey Sandgren, engineering; Kiril Tcherveniachki, journalism and electronic media.

Women's Tennis - Blakeley Griffith, English literature; Vicky Jones, biochemistry, cellular and molecular biology; Ghizela Schutte, psychology.

Men's Track - Jangy Addy, journalism and electronic media; Andy Baksa, exercise science; Jeff Day, sport management; Jacob Dennis, history; Tyler DeVault, management and human resource development; Kevin Duffy, graduate public administration (MA); Kris Fant, economics; Jonathan Fluellen, sport management; Akeem Hardnett, journalism and electronic media; Chris Helwick, economics and finance; Michael Hogue, nursing; Antonio Immediate, special education; Denton Jones, economics; Andy Lane, marketing and logistics; Ben Lukowski, exercise science, Brent Smith, exercise science; Steve Tobin, aerospace engineering; Lee Trembley, psychology; Richard Wooten, finance.

Women's Track - Sarah Bowman, human resource management; Courtney Champion, public relations; Rebecca Cole, exercise science; Alicia Essex, graphic design; Katie Flaute, exercise science; Felicia Guliford, biochemistry, cellular and molecular biology and Spanish; Tiki James, sport management; Carly Matthews, studio art; Kimarra McDonald, exercise science; Leah Soro, environmental and soil science; Leslie Treherne, exercise science; Cleo Tyson, child and family studies; Katie Van Horn, statistics.

Story Courtesy: UT Sports Information & Public Relations

Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station. powered by Disqus