AP tabs McRae, Stokes for all-SEC honors

NASHVILLE, TN - MARCH 14, 2013: guard Jordan McRae #52 of the Tennessee Volunteers during the SEC tournament matchup between the Mississippi State Bulldogs and the Tennessee Volunteers at the Bridgestone Arena in Nashville, TN. Photo By Donald Page/Tennessee Athletics

KNOXVILLE, Tenn. (WVLT) -- The Associated Press released its men’s basketball All-SEC Team Monday, and Tennessee’s Jordan McRae and Jarnell Stokes were among those honored.

Just as they did on last week’s coaches’ All-SEC teams, McRae and Stokes earned first- and second-team status, respectively, on the AP squads.

After averaging 8.6 points as UT’s sixth man a season ago, McRae emerged this year as a legitimate SEC Player of the Year contender. The junior shooting guard from Midway, Ga., averaged 19.2 points during conference play to finish as the league’s third-leading scorer.

Among the SEC's top four scorers, McRae's 1.38 points per field-goal attempt ranked second only to Georgia’s Kentavious Caldwell-Pope (1.41).

And against the top three teams in the final SEC standings (Florida, Kentucky, Ole Miss), McRae averaged 23.4 points and 5.6 rebounds.

The Midway, Ga., native scored at least 25 points six times and posted two 30-point outings. He dropped a career-high 35 points on Georgia in Athens while shooting 8-for-11 from 3-point range.

Stokes, who arrived in Knoxville as a consensus top-20 prospect midway through last year, has been one of the most imposing frontcourt players in the nation this season. The sophomore power forward was only one of only four players in “major” college basketball – and the only player from the SEC – to average a double-double in league play (13.1 ppg, 10.7 rpg).

The Memphis, Tenn., native’s 15 double-doubles this season are tied for the most in the SEC and are the most by a Vol in a season since Naismith Basketball Hall of Fame candidate Bernard King had 19 during the 1976-77 campaign.

Stokes’ 305 rebounds this year stand as the 10th-highest single-season total in school history. The legendary King owns the ninth-best total on that list, as he had 308 rebounds in 1974-75.

Caldwell-Pope was the only unanimous selection to the AP All-SEC teams, and he also garnered SEC Player of the Year honors.

Florida’s Billy Donovan earned AP Coach of the Year acclaim, while Ole Miss guard Marshall Henderson was voted the AP’s SEC Newcomer of the Year.

For the most up-to-date information about the Tennessee basketball program, visit UTsports.com/basketball and follow @Vol_Hoops on Twitter.

u-Kentavious Caldwell-Pope, Georgia, G, 6-5, So.
Erik Murphy, Florida, F/C, 6-10, Sr.
Trevor Releford, Alabama, G, 6-0, Jr.
Jordan McRae, Tennessee, G, 6-5, Jr.
Nerlens Noel, Kentucky, F, 6-10, Fr.

Marshall Henderson, Ole Miss, G, 6-2, Jr.
Elston Turner, Texas A&M, G, 6-5, Sr.
Jarnell Stokes, Tennessee, F, 6-8, So.
Johnny O'Bryant III, LSU, F, 6-9, So.
Murphy Holloway, Ole Miss, F, 6-7, Sr.
Phil Pressey, Missouri, G, 5-11, Jr.

Laurence Bowers, Missouri, F, 6-8, Sr.; Kenny Boynton, Florida, G, 6-2, Sr.; Alex Oriakhi, Missouri, F, 6-9, Sr.; Marshawn Powell, Arkansas, F, 6-7, Jr.; Mike Rosario, Florida, G, 6-3, Sr.; Scottie Wilbekin, Florida, G, 6-2, Jr.; BJ Young, Arkansas, G, 6-3, So.; Patric Young, Florida, C, 6-9, Jr.

PLAYER OF THE YEAR — Kentavious Caldwell-Pope, Georgia
COACH OF THE YEAR — Billy Donovan, Florida
NEWCOMER OF THE YEAR — Marshall Henderson, Ole Miss

u = unanimous selection

Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station. powered by Disqus