All-SPHL first team announced

CHARLOTTE, NC (WVLT/SUBMITTED) -- The Southern Professional Hockey League on Thursday announced its 2012-2013 All-SPHL First Team as selected in a vote of SPHL coaches, general managers and media representatives.

2012-2013 All-SPHL First Team

F - Josh McQuade, Fayetteville FireAntz
F - Ryan Salvis, Pensacola Ice Flyers
F - Matt Robertson, Louisiana IceGators
D - Mark Van Vliet, Knoxville Ice Bears
D - Andrew Smale, Fayetteville FireAntz
G - Riley Gill, Louisiana IceGators

Josh McQuade of the Fayetteville FireAntz led the SPHL in goals (42), points (79), power play assists (16-tied) and shots (289) and set a new SPHL record with 11 game-winning goals. The only unanimous selection, McQuade also tied for third with 37 assists while his +20 rating ranked fourth.

Ryan Salvis of the Pensacola Ice Flyers finished second in the SPHL in both scoring (64 points) and assists (39). His 25 goals and six game-winners were fourth-best, while his 14 power play assists ranked third.

Matt Robertson of the Louisiana IceGators finished third in points (56-tied) and goals (27), while his nine power play goals ranked second.

Mark Van Vliet of the Knoxville Ice Bears makes his fourth consecutive appearance on the All-SPHL First Team. Van Vliet led all defensemen with 40 points, 12 goals (tied) and 135 shots. His 28 assists and 12 power play helpers both ranked second among blueliners.

Andrew Smale of the Fayetteville FireAntz led all defensemen with 29 assists, and was second with 36 points and five power play goals. His +13 rating was also fifth-best among defensemen.

Riley Gill of the Louisiana IceGators led the league in wins (25-tied) and shootout wins (four) and set a new SPHL record with five shutouts. His 2.43 goals against average ranked second while his .918 was tied for third-lowest.

The SPHL will announce its Defenseman of the Year on Friday.

Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station. powered by Disqus