Jimmie Johnson wins record fifth straight Sprint Cup championship

By  | 

HOMESTEAD, Fla. (AP) -- Jimmie Johnson has won his record fifth consecutive NASCAR championship by making the fewest mistakes in the season finale.

Johnson trailed Denny Hamlin by 15 points at the start of Sunday's race. But he had the cleanest race of the three championship contenders and maintained his reign atop NASCAR.

Carl Edwards won the race, his second consecutive victory.

Johnson finished second and claimed the title by 39 points over Hamlin. Kevin Harvick finished third in the race and third in the standings, 41 points behind Johnson.

Hamlin had a terrible race and finished 14th.

(Copyright 2010 by The Associated Press. All Rights Reserved.)


HOMESTEAD, Fla. (WVLT) – Jimmy Johnson has won his fifth consecutive NASCAR Sprint Cup Championship by finishing second at the Ford 400.

Carl Edwards finished the race in first place.

We’ll have much more tonight on Sports Overtime at 11:00.

Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station. powered by Disqus