Greg Maddux, Tom Glavine and Frank Thomas elected to Hall of Fame

Atlanta Braves Greg Maddux in action during the 1996 Major League Baseball season. (Photo by Allen Kee/WireImage)

Knoxville, Tenn --( After electing only three players to the Hall of Fame over the last three years, the BBWAA announced the induction of three new members on Wednesday afternoon: Greg Maddux, Tom Glavine and Frank Thomas. Two 300 game winners and a 500 home run hitter. Pretty excellent group.

A total of 36 players were eligible for the Hall of Fame this year. They must appear on at least 75 percent of the 571 ballots for induction. Maddux, predictably, led the voting this year by appearing on 97.2 percent of the ballots cast. That is the seventh highest percentage in history, behind Tom Seaver (98.84 percent), Nolan Ryan (98.79 percent), Cal Ripken Jr. (98.53 percent), Ty Cobb (98.23 percent), George Brett (98.19 percent), Hank Aaron (97.83 percent) and Tony Gwynn (97.61 percent).

Glavine appeared on the second most ballots at 91.9 percent, a healthy rate in the grand scheme of things. That's the 24th highest voting percentage in history. Maddux and Glavine are the first starting pitchers who began their careers after 1970 to be elected into the Hall of Fame. The duo spent a decade as teammates with the Braves from 1993-2002.

Thomas (83.7 percent) appeared on a more modest number of ballots, but still enough for induction. Craig Biggio fell just short (as in two votes) of induction at 74.8 percent. This is the first time three players have been elected to the Hall of Fame in a single year since Nolan Ryan, George Brett and Robin Yount went in together in 1999.

In their second years on the ballot, Barry Bonds and Roger Clemens received 34.7 percent and 35.4 percent of the vote, respectively. They actually received less support this year than last. Performance-enhancing drug allegations have certainly hurt their cases for unduction into Cooperstown and it doesn't appear they will be getting in anytime soon.

In his 15th and final year of eligibility, Jack Morris appeared on 61.5 percent of the ballots. He will be eligible for election through the Expansion Era Committee in three years. The full voting results are available at the BBWAA's official website.

The Expansion Era Committee unanimously elected former managers Bobby Cox, Tony La Russa and Joe Torre into the Hall of Fame last month. They'll be on the stage with Maddux, Glavine and Thomas in Cooperstown during Hall of Fame weekend this summer, which runs from July 25-28.

555 Greg Maddux 97.2%
525 Tom Glavine 91.9%
478 Frank Thomas 83.7%
427 Craig Biggio 74.8%
355 Mike Piazza 62.2%
351 Jack Morris 61.5%
310 Jeff Bagwell 54.3%
263 Tim Raines 46.1%
202 Roger Clemens 35.4%
198 Barry Bonds 34.7%
171 Lee Smith 29.9%
167 Curt Schilling 29.2%
144 Edgar Martinez 25.2%
119 Alan Trammell 20.8%
116 Mike Mussina 20.3%
87 Jeff Kent 15.2%
67 Fred McGriff 11.7%
63 Mark McGwire 11.0%
58 Larry Walker 10.2%
47 Don Mattingly 8.2%
41 Sammy Sosa 7.2%
25 Rafael Palmeiro 4.4%
6 Moises Alou 1.1%
6 Hideo Nomo 1.1%
5 Luis Gonzalez 0.9%
2 Eric Gagne 0.4%
2 J.T. Snow 0.4%
1 Armando Benitez 0.2%
1 Jaque Jones 0.2%
1 Kenny Rogers 0.2%
0 Sean Casey 0.0%
0 Ray Durham 0.0%
0 Todd Jones 0.0%
0 Paul Lo Duca 0.0%
0 Richie Sexson 0.0%
0 Mike Timlin 0.0%
Topics: MLB Hall of Fame, MLB

Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station. powered by Disqus