Media picks Lady Vols to win SEC

Birmingham, Ala. (SUBMITTED) -- Tennessee was predicted to win the 2011 Southeastern Conference women's basketball championship in a voting of a select panel of both SEC and national media members.

The Tennessee women’s basketball team returns an intact squad after going 32-3 and winning both the 2010 SEC regular season and tournament championships last year. They earned 15-of-17 first-place votes.

Tennessee tops the order of finish with 202 points, with Kentucky (183), Vanderbilt (157), Georgia (150), LSU (147) and Auburn (120) rounding out the top half of the league. South Carolina (84), Arkansas (81), Alabama (65), and Ole Miss (47) were next with Mississippi State (45) and Florida (45) tied for last place.

Kentucky’s Victoria Dunlap was the overwhelming choice of the media for SEC Women's Basketball Player of the Year with 13 votes, the remaining votes were for Tennessee’s Angie Bjorklund and Shekinna Stricklen. Dunlap, a senior forward, led Kentucky in almost every statistical category, averaging 18.1 points and 8.4 rebounds per game last season. She was named 2010 SEC Player of the Year for her efforts.

Joining Dunlap on the All-SEC First Team are LSU’s LaSondra Barrett; Tennessee’s Angie Bjorklund and Shekinna Stricklen; and Vanderbilt’s Jence Rhoads. Second team consists of Alabama’s Tierney Jenkins; Auburn’s Alli Smalley; Georgia’s Porsha Phillips; Kentucky’s A’dia Mathies and Tennessee’s Kelley Cain.

Points were compiled on a 12-11-10-9-8-7-6-5-4-3-2-1 basis. Each media member also voted for one team as an overall conference champion and a five-player All-SEC Team.

The 2010-11 SEC Media Preseason Poll tips off SEC Basketball Media Days, October 21 at the Wynfrey Hotel in Hoover, Alabama. The SEC Women’s Basketball Coaches Poll will be released on Thursday, Oct. 28.

Preseason Media Poll
(First-Place Votes in Parentheses)

SEC Champion: Tennessee (15), Kentucky (1), Auburn (1)

Player of the Year: Victoria Dunlap, Kentucky (13), Angie Bjorklund, Tennessee (2), Shekinna Stricklen, Tennessee (2)

Order of Finish
1. Tennessee 202
2. Kentucky 183
3. Vanderbilt 157
4. Georgia 150
5. LSU 147
6. Auburn 120
7. South Carolina 84
8. Arkansas 81
9. Alabama 65
10. Ole Miss 47
11. Mississippi State 45
11. Florida 45

LaSondra Barrett, LSU
Victoria Dunlap, Kentucky
Angie Bjorklund, Tennessee
Shekinna Stricklen, Tennessee
Jence Rhoads, Vanderbilt

Second Team
Tierney Jenkins, Alabama
Alli Smalley, Auburn
Porsha Phillips, Georgia
A’dia Mathies, Kentucky
Kelley Cain, Tennessee

Courtesy: SEC Sports

Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station. powered by Disqus