Oak Ridge, Webb students recipients of Peyton Manning Scholarship

KNOXVILLE, Tenn. (utsports.com) -- Honors graduates Phoebe Fogelman from Oak Ridge High School in Oak Ridge, Tenn., and Tyrel Prentiss, of the Webb School of Knoxville have been named 2011 recipients of the Peyton Manning Scholarship. The scholarship has been awarded annually since 1998 to a first-year student participating in UT's Honors Program in honor of Manning, the former Vols signal-caller, co-captain and 1997 All-America selection.

Peyton Manning and UT Director of Financial Aid Jeff Gerkin along with Chancellor Jimmy Cheek joined Fogelman and Prentiss along with family members during the June 20 ceremony on the University of Tennessee campus.

“Time sure has a way of slipping by,” Manning said. “Phoebe and Tyrel now give us a total of 15 Manning Scholarship recipients since it was first awarded back in 1998. They clearly uphold the outstanding academic standards that this scholarship has come to embody, and are accomplished student-athlete as well. I’m certainly proud to add them to what has become an elite group of deserving scholarship recipients.”

Both Fogelman and Prentiss were National Merit Semifinalists and are athletes as well. Fogelman was on the Oak Ridge Swim team while Prentiss was goalkeeper on the Webb School soccer team. From the academic side they mirrored each as well with outstanding Act scores and excellent overall grade point averages which placed them in the top percentile of their class.

“I was excited and honored to receive the Peyton Manning Scholarship,” Fogelman said. “Mr. Manning is an inspiration. Not only are his athletic achievements impressive; he also recognizes the value of a good education and maintains ties to his community. His generosity is both a reward for hard work and an investment in the next generation.”

Prentiss added, “I view the Peyton Manning Scholarship as both an honor and a challenge. I feel honored that I was recognized for such a prestigious award dedicated to a man who truly values scholarship. I see the scholarship as a challenge as well. I feel that I must push myself in all my academic endeavors to truly live up to the standards of the scholarship.

Fogelman and Prentiss are also one of only 15 incoming Chancellor’s Honor students chosen to participate in this year’s Haslam Scholars Program, an in-depth enrichment program in which elite students learn from and with one another through a series of integrated, interdisciplinary seminars and extracurricular experiences, including common study abroad.

A speech communication major who was No. 1 in his 1997 graduating class, Manning is the career passing leader at Tennessee with 11,201 yards, a 62.5 completion percentage and 89 touchdown passes.

The Manning Scholarship is funded from gifts to the University garnered from Manning's academic awards, the UT Athletic Department's corporate matching grants program and other private gifts.

Manning's four-year career at UT (1994-97) produced a number of awards that generated $165,000 in scholarship funds. Among the awards were the Burger King-Vincent de Paul Draddy National Scholar Athlete of the Year, the Davey O'Brien Foundation Award and the American Honda Scholar-Athlete of the Year.

The Manning Scholarship covers the full tuition costs. The award is granted to a first-year student on the basis of academic achievement, leadership and community service.

Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station. powered by Disqus