Vols Picked Third in SEC Media Poll, Land Three on All-SEC Team

Lexington, KY - January 15, 2013: guard Jordan McRae #52 of the Tennessee Volunteers during the game between Kentucky Wildcats and the Tennessee Volunteers at Rupp Arena in Lexington, KY. Photo By Donald Page/Tennessee Athletics

Knoxville, Tenn.--(UTSports) The Tennessee basketball team was picked to finish third in the 2014 Southeastern Conference standings in voting by a select panel of both SEC and national media members, the league announced Wednesday. Each SEC school selected media members that cover their team, and additional media from across the nation were selected by the conference office to form the voting panel.

Tennessee was one of only three teams to receive a first-place vote. Preseason favorite Kentucky received 21 first-place votes, while Florida received five.

Points were compiled on a 14-13-12-11-10-9-8-7-6-5-4-3-2-1 basis. Each media member also voted for a five-player All-SEC Team.

The Volunteers placed three players on the media's preseason All-SEC team. Only Kentucky had more All-SEC honorees (four).

Vols senior guard Jordan McRae was a first-team selection, and the Midway, Ga., native also was runner-up in SEC Player of the Year voting.

Tennessee's formidable frontcourt duo of senior Jeronne Maymon and junior Jarnell Stokes made the All-SEC second team.

Kentucky freshman Julius Randle media's choice for SEC Player of the Year with 11 votes. Others who received POY votes were McRae (5 votes), LSU's Johnny O'Bryant III (3 votes), Tennessee's Jarnell Stokes (3 votes), Florida's Patric Young (2 votes), Ole Miss' Marshall Henderson (2 votes) and Alabama's Trevor Releford (1 vote).

Tennessee hosts a pair of exhibition games on Nov. 2 and 7 before opening the 2013-14 season at Xavier Nov. 12.

Season and individual-game tickets are on sale now at the UT Ticket Office or by calling 1-800-332-8657 or visiting www.UTtix.com.

First-Team All-SEC
Trevor Releford - Alabama, G, 6-0, 190, Sr., Kansas City, Mo.
Julius Randle - Kentucky, F, 6-9, 250, Fr., Dallas, Texas
Johnny O'Bryant III - LSU, F , 6-9 , 256 , Jr. , Cleveland, Miss.
Marshall Henderson - Ole Miss, G, 6-2, 177, Sr., Hurst, Texas
Jordan McRae - Tennessee, G, 6-6, 185, Sr., Midway, Ga.
Second-Team All-SEC
Scottie Wilbekin - Florida, G, 6-2, 176, Sr., Gainesville, Fla.
Patric Young - Florida, C, 6-9, 240, Sr., Jacksonville, Fla.
Willie Cauley-Stein - Kentucky, F, 7-0, 244, So., Olathe, Kan.
Andrew Harrison - Kentucky, G, 6-6, 215, Fr., Richmond, Texas
Dakari Johnson - Kentucky, C, 7-0, 265, Fr., Brooklyn, N.Y.
Jabari Brown - Missouri, G, 6-5, 214, Jr., Oakland, Calif.
Jeronne Maymon - Tennessee, F, 6-8, 260, Sr., Madison, Wis.
Jarnell Stokes - Tennessee, F, 6-8, 260, Jr., Memphis, Tenn.

SEC Player of the Year: Julius Randle, Kentucky

Preseason Media Poll -- Pts
Kentucky (21) -- 371
Florida (5) -- 353
Tennessee (1) -- 320
LSU -- 270
Missouri -- 262
Alabama -- 257
Ole Miss -- 216
Arkansas -- 197
Texas A&M -- 139
Vanderbilt -- 125
Georgia -- 119
South Carolina -- 108
Mississippi State -- 59
Auburn -- 39
First-Place Votes in Parentheses

Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station. powered by Disqus