Grant Williams named to Karl Malone Award watch list

ST. LOUIS, MO - MARCH 11, 2018 - Forward Grant Williams #2 of the Tennessee Volunteers during the game between the Kentucky Wildcats and Tennessee Volunteers at the 2018 Men's SEC Basketball Tournament at Scottrade Center in St. Louis, MO. Photo By Kyle Zedaker/Tennessee Athletics

The award lists are beginning to rack up for one Tennessee player.

Tennessee junior Grant Williams is one of 21 players on the 2019 Karl Malone Power Forward of the Year Award watch list, the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame announced Thursday.

Previous winners in the short history of the award include Deandre Ayton of Arizona (2018), Johnathan Motley of Baylor (2017), Georges Niang of Iowa State (2016) and Montrezl Harrell of Louisville (2015).

Williams is one of 21 players on the watch list coming into the season. After the list is narrowed to ten by mid-February, five finalists will be named in March and presented to Malone and the Hall of Fame's selection committee.

The reigning SEC Player of the Year, Williams comes into the 2018-19 season having led the Vols in scoring (15.2 PPG), second on the team in blocks (44), and rebounding (6.0 RPG). Williams was also fourth on the team in assists.

Williams is joined on the Naismth Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame's college awards list by teammates Jordan Bone (Bob Cousey Point Guard of the Year) and Admiral Schofield (Julius Erving Small Forward of the Year).

Included on the Malone list are Zion Williamson (Duke), Reid Travis (Kentucky), P.J. Washington (Kentucky), Chris Silva (South Carolina), and Simisola Shittu (Vanderbilt).