MTSU Students, Faculty, and Alum to be Presented at ACM Awards

KNOXVILLE, Tenn. (WVLT) -- Middle Tennessee State University's Recording Industry department chair was featured at an event for the Academy of Country Music in Las Vegas. The event took place Saturday night and allowed the chair to talk about the lack of gender equality in country radio.

Pete Fisher, ACM CEO and MTSU alum, reached out to professor Beverly Keel to bring her "Change The Conversation" presentation to the Radio Awards ceremony. Radio executives were in attendance which gave Keel and her peers the opportunity to address them directly.

Keel, Leslie Fram and Tracy Gershon formed "Change the Conversation" in 2014. Its purpose is to fight gender inequality in country music and does this by funding research, mentoring young women and also hosting events to get industry experts insights.

In addition to the presentation, MTSU students and faculty were also invited to the awards. Fisher, along with technical and production executives, will be teaching a master class at rehearsals to the students during their visit.

Continuing to make their presence known, MTSU also has seven alums being recognized in this year's ACM awards. They are:

Chandler Baldwin, Jared Hampton and Eric Steedly, who are three of the five members of Lanco, nominated for Group of the Year and New Duo and Group of the Year.
Mitchell Tenpenny, nominated for New Male Artist of the Year.
Recent Grammy-winner Luke Laird, nominated for Song of the Year for “Space Cowboy” with Kacey Musgraves.
Michael Knox, nominated for Producer of the Year.
Hillary Scott, nominated with Lady Antebellum for Group of the Year.

The ceremony will be airing on Sunday at 8 p.m. on WVLT.