Peyton Manning scholarship awarded to four incoming UT freshmen

Published: Jun. 16, 2017 at 10:22 PM EDT
Email This Link
Share on Pinterest
Share on LinkedIn

Peyton Manning visited UT Knoxville Friday to award four incoming freshman scholarships.

The recipients are Emma Kate Hall, Grace Neiman, Sydney Peay and Blake Turpin.

Established in 1998, the Peyton Manning Scholarship Endowment has benefited 33 students, including this years recipients. The scholarships is awarded based on academic achievement, leadership and community service. All recipients are part of the Haslam Scholars Program.

"My four years here at Tennessee were very special," Manning told the students and their families at the awards reception in the Peyton Manning Locker Room in Neyland Stadium. He said he hopes the scholarships provide the recipients "with some of the same opportunities I had when I was at school here.

"Understand that this is just the beginning, and what a positive impact you will have on this great university and on the communities where you make your mark after graduation."

Manning asked the students to observe the words on a sign above the door leading from the locker room to the football field: "I will give my all for Tennessee today."

"The responsibility of those words is not just for the football team, but for everyone associated with this great university. … Let the words displayed on the sign guide you moving forward and provide special meaning for your lives."