Peyton leads induction for prestigious 2019 TNSHOF class

NASHVILLE, Tenn. (WVLT)-- The Tennessee Sports Hall of Fame announced its nine-person 2019 induction class on Wednesday. Included in the star-studded class are five honorees with UT ties: Kippy Brown, David Cutcliffe, Charles Davis, Kara Lawson and Peyton Manning.

The class will be inducted at the 53rd annual induction ceremony on Saturday, June 15 at the Omni Nashville Hotel.

Brown served three different stints as wide receivers coach at Tennessee from 1983-89, 1993-94 and then again in 2009. A Tennessee native, Brown helped establish the Vols as "Wide Receiver U," coaching the likes of Carl Pickens, Joey Kent and Marcus Nash. He had an illustrious career in the NFL as well, winning Super Bowl XLVIII with the Seattle Seahawks. Brown also spent time coaching with the New York Jets, Tampa Bay Buccaneers, Miami Dolphins, Green Bay Packers, Houston Texans and Detroit Lions.

David Cutcliffe coached at Tennessee from 1982-1998 and again from 2006-07, serving as an offensive assistant, tight ends coach, quarterbacks coach and offensive coordinator. He helped develop another member of this induction class, Peyton Manning, into one of the most prolific college and NFL quarterbacks in history during Manning's time at Tennessee. As a coach with UT, Cutcliffe was a part of five SEC Championships and the Vols' undefeated run to becoming the 1998 National Champions. He won the 1998 Broyles Award, which is given to the nation's top assistant coach.

A Tennessee native, Davis was a four-year starter at safety for the Vols (1983-86) and was a member of the famed "Sugar Vols" who defeated Miami, 35-7, in the Sugar Bowl. In the bowl win over the Hurricanes, Davis registered six tackles and an interception. The '85 Vols also won the SEC Championship. Davis currently works as a game analyst for Fox and covers the NFL Draft for the NFL Network.

Women's Basketball
Lawson played for the legendary Pat Summitt and the Lady Vols from 1999-03 and was named to the AP All-America team three times. During her Tennessee career, the Lady Vols won four SEC Championships and had a record of 126-17. The Springfield, Va., native was drafted fifth overall by the Detroit Shock in 2003 and won a WNBA Championship with the Sacramento Monarchs in 2005. She played for Team USA in the 2008 Beijing Olympics, winning a gold medal, and now serves on the University of Tennessee Board of Trustees. She also is a game analyst with the NBA's Washington Wizards as well as an analyst and studio host with ESPN.

Manning played quarterback for Tennessee from 1994-97 and led the Vols to the 1997 SEC Championship game where they defeated the Auburn Tigers, 30-29. Manning was a consensus first-team All-American and won the Maxwell Award, Davy O'Brien Award and the Johnny Unitas Award in his senior season. He completed his career at UT with 11,201 passing yards, 89 passing touchdowns and 39 career wins. All of which are still Tennessee records. He went on to become a five-time NFL MVP, 14-time Pro Bowler and won two Super Bowls with the Indianapolis Colts and Denver Broncos.
Williams Repeats as TNSHOF Male Amateur Athlete of the Year
For the second year in the row, Tennessee basketball star Grant Williams has been selected as the Tennessee Sports Hall of Fame's Male Amateur Athlete of the Year. He will be recognized during the organization's 53rd Annual Induction Banquet on Saturday, June 15, at the Omni-Nashville Hotel.

Williams joins football VFL Eric Berry as the only UT student-athletes to win the award multiple times.

A consensus first-team All-American, Williams ranked among the nation's most versatile and efficient players this year, averaging 18.8 points, 7.5 rebounds, 3.2 assists, 1.5 blocks and 1.1 steals per game. He also shot 57 percent from the field and an impressive 82 percent from the free-throw line.

Williams ranked in the top 10 in the SEC in scoring (1st), field-goal percentage (2nd), free-throw percentage (5th), rebounding (7th) and assist/turnover ratio (10th). He moved into the top 10 on UT's all-time career lists for blocks (3rd/160), free-throw attempts (3rd/661), free throws made (4th/501) and offensive rebounds (8th/257). He also ranks 12th in scoring with 1,629 career points.

The Charlotte, North Carolina, native helped the Vols (31-6) advance to the Sweet Sixteen and match the program record for wins in a single season. Williams also played a critical role in this year's team setting program records for points, field goals made, assists and blocks.

A finalist for virtually every major National Player of the Year award, Williams' list of postseason honors was extensive. He was named SEC Player of the Year and a first-team All-SEC performer—both for the second straight season. He also was named to the SEC Community Service Team, the SEC All-Tournament Team and was the USBWA District IV Player of the Year.

This is the fourth straight year in which a Tennessee Vol has been named the TSHOF's Male Amateur Athlete of the Year, as world-champion sprinter Christian Coleman shared the award in 2016 before winning it outright in 2017.

Other Tennessee male student-athletes who have received the award are tennis player J.P. Smith (2011), football player Eric Berry (2008, 2009, 2010), baseball pitcher Luke Hochevar (2006), sprinter Justin Gatlin (2003), football player John Henderson (2001), swimmer Jeremy Linn (1999), football player Peyton Manning (1998), baseball player Todd Helton (1996), baseball pitcher R.A. Dickey (1995), swimmer Melvin Stewart (1993), football player Reggie White (1984), basketball player Ernie Grunfeld (1977), steeplechase runner Doug Brown (1975), football/baseball player Condredge Holloway (1974), swimmer David Edgar (1973) and football player Bobby Majors (1972).

The Tennessee Sports Hall of Fame, which held its first induction banquet in 1966, has as its goal to enshrine successful teams and individuals who display sportsmanship, good character and success, creating a legacy for others to follow. The Tennessee Sports Hall of Fame Museum is housed inside the Bridgestone Arena in downtown Nashville.