New laws on abortion, scooters, guns, crime take effect in Tenn. July 1
Multiple laws will take effect on July 1 in Tennessee,
Here's a look at the new laws you need to know about:
This new law allows participating families to receive debit cards worth up to $7,300 in state education money each year.
A gaming commission will be created and made up of nine members, and bets will only be accepted from a bettor who is actually in Tennessee.
This allows the state to ask the federal government for a lump sum to create a new health care system.
This authorizes local education agencies to provide free feminine hygiene products in eligible public high schools.
It establishes a process for landlords to verify need of tenants and prospective tenants to have pet policies waived to accommodate the need for a service or support animal; creates penalties for misrepresentation.
This establishes requirements for the operation of electric foot scooters; specifies that for purposes of the DUI laws, an electric scooter will be considered a motor-driven vehicle.
As enacted, it creates offenses related to the possession, sale, distribution and transport of child-like sex dolls.
This bill bans using handheld devices while driving in Tennessee.
It redefines "public place" for the purposes of the offense of indecent exposure to include a restroom, locker room, dressing room or shower designated for multi-person, single-sex use.
It creates a council to study the impacts of the disease on Tennessee and its residents.
This penalizes paid voter registration groups with fines for too many incomplete sign-up forms and criminal penalties for submitting registration forms too late.
Beginning October 1, 2020, everyone must have a REAL ID license for accessing Federal buildings, entering nuclear facilities and boarding federally regulated commercial aircraft.
Called the "Human Life Protection Law," the new bill means that abortion would be banned in the state of Tennessee on the 30th day after the U.S. Supreme Court overturns Roe V. Wade.
A bill named in honor of JaJuan Latham, a 12-year-old boy fatally shot while sitting in the back of his father's car in 2016 will impose increased penalties for drive-by shooters who injure children. Each offense will be classified as one step higher than previously.
Marriage licenses will no longer be allowed for anyone under the age of 17.
The transfer of a firearm to another person with the knowledge that the person has been committed to a mental institution, or has been deemed legally mentally defective is now classified as a class A misdemeanor.