Tennessee moves up open-air burn permit requirements

Bay, Gulf, Calhoun, and Jackson Counties are all under a burn ban until further notice. (MGN)

NASHVILLE, Tenn. (AP) - State officials are telling Tennessee residents that all open-air outdoor fires will require a burn permit starting Monday.

Burn permits are usually required statewide from Oct. 15 through May 15. Tennessee's Division of Forestry said Friday that burn permit requirements are being put in place early as a precaution against hot and dry weather leading into the fall fire season.

Permits can be obtained online, for free, if residents are burning a leaf or brush pile smaller than 8 feet by 8 feet (2.4 meters by 2.4 meters). For a larger burn, residents should call their local Division of Forestry for a permit.

Burning without a permit can lead to up to 30 days in jail. Wildfires caused by arson are punishable by 3 to 15 years in prison. Both violations can carry fines.

(Copyright 2019 The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.)

9/23/2019 3:58:54 AM (GMT -4:00)