Davis added to Cheryl Miller watch list

KNOXVILLE, Tenn. (WVLT) -- The Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame and the Women's Basketball Coaches Association announced today the 20 watch list candidates for the 2020 Cheryl Miller Award. University of Tennessee junior wing Rennia Davis is on that list.

Named after the three-time Naismith Player of the Year and Class of 1995 Hall of Famer, the annual award in its third year recognizes the top small forwards in women's NCAA Division I college basketball. Davis was a semifinalist for the award as a sophomore.

Last season, the 6-foot-2 Davis led UT in scoring (14.9), rebounding (7.7) and free throw percentage (.856) in her second season on Rocky Top. She ranked No. 1 in the SEC in free throw percentage, No. 8 in rebounding and No. 12 in scoring a year ago. She was a second-team All-SEC selection by the coaches and media, and earned WBCA All-America honorable mention accolades.

Davis' scoring average in 2018-19 tied for No. 5 all-time by a UT sophomore, while her rebound average was the ninth-best for a second-year performer at Tennessee. Her sophomore-year double-double total (9) was the sixth-most by an active player in the SEC last season and the second-most by an underclassman.

"Cheryl Miller has long been recognized as one of the greats of our game, dominating at USC and winning two NCAA Championships," said John L. Doleva, President and CEO of the Basketball Hall of Fame. "The student-athletes being considered for the Cheryl Miller Award are undoubtedly some of the most gifted in the game today and they should feel proud to be named to the watch list this season."

The Selection Committee for the Cheryl Miller Award is composed of top women's college basketball personnel including media members, head coaches, sports information directors and Hall of Famers. New to the award this season is Fan Voting presented by Dell Technologies in each of the three rounds. By mid-February, the watch list of 20 players for the 2020 Cheryl Miller Award will be narrowed to just 10. In March, five finalists will be presented to Ms. Miller and the Hall of Fame's selection committee.

The winner of the 2020 Cheryl Miller Small Forward Award will be presented at The College Basketball Awards presented by Wendy's in Los Angeles, CA on Friday, April 10, 2020, along with the other four members of the Women's Starting Five. Additional awards being presented include the Nancy Lieberman Point Guard Award, the Ann Meyers Drysdale Shooting Guard Award, the Katrina McClain Power Forward Award, and the Lisa Leslie Center Award, in addition to the Men's Starting Five.

Previous winners of the Cheryl Miller Small Forward of the Year Award include Bridget Carleton, Iowa State (2019) and Gabby Williams, Connecticut (2018).

For more information on the 2020 Cheryl Miller Award and the latest updates, log onto www.hoophallawards.com and follow @hoophall and #MillerAward on Twitter and Instagram. Starting Five Fan Voting presented by Dell Technologies will go live on Friday, October 25.

2020 Cheryl Miller Award Candidates*

Didi Richards, Baylor

Megan Walker, Connecticut

Chante Stonewall, DePaul

Francesca Pan, Georgia Tech

Ashley Joens, Iowa State

Rhyne Howard, Kentucky

Kaila Charles, Maryland

Courtney Woods, Northern Illinois

Sam Brunelle, Notre Dame

Ana Llanusa, Oklahoma

Vivian Gray, Oklahoma State

Satou Sabally, Oregon

Mikayla Pivec, Oregon State

Shadeen Samuels, Seton Hall

DiJonai Carrington, Stanford

Mia Davis, Temple

Rennia Davis, Tennessee

Kayla Wells, Texas A&M

Michaela Onyewere, UCLA

Borislava Hristova, Washington State