Lady Vols take center stage at SEC Media days

Lady Vols head coach Holly Warlick led the charge into Day-2 of the SEC Basketball Media Days in Birmingham. Holly's team picked to finish third in the league by the media behind Miss. State and South Carolina. Coach Warlick says that's all good and everything, but with so much parity and competition in the league it's hard to tell at this point who's gonna come out on top. What she does know is that this year's team is energized and ready to go. On e thing the Holly says she doesn't want to coach is effort and she feels like she'll get that from a group that includes four Freshman and a grad transfer.

With the coach in Alabama on Thursday were Senior Meme Jackson and Sophomore Rennia Davis, who was picked 1st team ALL-SEC by the media and the recurring theme by the ladies was win. Bowing out early in the NCAA Tourney last year didn't sit well with the team and they're ready to get to work.

Mississippi State was predicted to win the 2019 Southeastern Conference women's basketball championship in a voting of a select panel of both SEC and national media members.

The Bulldogs enter the 2018-19 campaign as the reigning SEC regular-season champion and national runner-up. The Bulldogs return one starter in Teaira McCowan among their eight letterwinners.

Mississippi State tops the order of finish, with South Carolina, Tennessee, Georgia, Missouri, Texas A&M, and Kentucky rounding out the top half the league. Auburn, LSU, Alabama, Arkansas, Florida, Vanderbilt, and Ole Miss round out the bottom half.

Mississippi State's Teaira McCowan was the overwhelming choice for SEC Women's Basketball Player of the Year. Missouri's Sophie Cunningham and Texas A&M's Chennedy Carter also received votes.

Joining McCowan, Cunningham and Carter on the All-SEC team are Georgia's Calyia Robinson, Mississippi State's Anriel Howard, South Carolina's Alexis Jennings and Tennessee's Rennia Davis.

Order of Finish

Mississippi State
South Carolina
Texas A&M
Ole Miss
Player of the Year
Teaira McCowan, Mississippi State

Preseason All-SEC
Caliya Robinson, Georgia
Anriel Howard, Mississippi State
Teaira McCowan, Mississippi State
Sophie Cunningham, Missouri
Alexis Jennings, South Carolina
Rennia Davis, Tennessee
Chennedy Carter, Texas A&M