Four locals named Mr. Football in respective classes

By  | 

The 2018 Tennessee Titans Me. Football award winners have been announced for 2018. Those players are Greenback quarterback Bryce Hanley, Alcoa quarterback Walker Russell, Fulton linebacker Deshawn Page and Greeneville quarterback Cade Ballard.

Of those four, Ballard, who’s passed for almost 23 hundred yards and 32 touchdowns is the only repeat winner. He’ll also be playing for another State championship this week.

Greenback’s Bryce Hanley led the Cherokees to a perfect regular season, throwing for over 21 hundred yards and 30 touchdowns before his Kees bowed out this past weekend in the state Semifinals.

Quarterback Walker Russell has been terrific for Alcoa coach Gary Rankin. An absolute team leader, he has the Tornadoes playing for a third straight gold ball this week in Cookeville.

Last but not least, Fulton’s Deshawn Page is an absolute force. Page made 59 tackles on defense and ran for over 500 yards on offense in leading the Falcons into the playoffs.

Below is a list of this year’s winners in each classification:


Division I, Class 1A

Bryce Hanley, Greenback

Division I, Class 2A

Aaron Swafford, Meigs County

Division I, Class 3A

Walker Russell, Alcoa

Division I, Class 4A

Cade Ballard, Greeneville

Division I, Class 5A

Deshawn Page, Fulton

Division I, Class 6A

Devon Starling, Cane Ridge

Division II, Class A

Stone Norton, Davidson Academy

Division II, Class AA

Eric Gray, Lausanne

Division II, Class AAA

Maurice Hampton, MUS


Garrett Taylor, Oakland